B.Sc Zoology


The Department of Zoology was established in 1976. Subsequently, M.Sc, M.Phil and Ph.D programmes were started in 1979, 1984 and 2001 respectively.

The faculty members of the Department have been the Chairpersons and members of the Board of Studies in Periyar University and Sri Sarada College for Women, Salem.

The Faculty members have also acted as members of the Inspection Committee for various Colleges.

The faculty members have published around 65 papers in various Journals, Book chapters and Magazines and 10 books.

Few faculty members are members of the Editorial board of various Journals.

The Department has produced around 100 M.Phil scholars and 3 Ph.D scholars.

To enhance the research activity, our Department has organized a National Level Conference.

Many of our students have participated in Seminars and Conferences and received awards for best paper presentations.

Our students have brought credit to the Department and College by producing 39 University Ranks.